Digital Legacy Policies of Top Websites
It is always a good idea to check the specific policies of the websites you are including in your digital legacy plan to see what information you are legally entitled to share. To help you we have provided the policies of the most popular providers below.
Like iTunes, Amazon’s Terms and Conditions prohibit others from accessing the content you have purchased through their site. Fortunately, Amazon does provide the ability to share content. Kindle accounts, for example, can be shared between 5 devices. If the main account holder is the deceased, however, this can get tricky. Your best bet is to contact Amazon directly. Unfortunately, as of this writing, Amazon does not have any information on their website which specifically discusses what to do in the case of the death of the account holder.
Ebay’s user agreement does not permit transfer of accounts to others. According to Ebay’s online support pages, if you need to close an account due to death, you should contact their support team.
Facebook allows family members to convert a deceased person’s account to a “memorized” status. Upon receiving proof of death sensitive personal information is deleted and the status of the account is changed. Facebook does not automatically delete inactive accounts so you do have some time to take action. Facebook also has a feature that allows you to designate a “legacy contact.” This person has the ability to respond to requests, post photos, and generally manage your content. You can specify a legacy contacts in the settings of your page.
Google’s “Inactive Account Manager” allows you to designate how you would like your accounts handled if your account is inactive for a specified period of time. You can designate up to 10 people to handle your accounts. You can also let Google know that you would like your account deactivated. In some cases, Google will provide your executor with access to the information stored in your account but this is not guaranteed.
To deactivate an Instagram account due to death you must file a form to request the change and submit proof of death such as a death certificate. You will not be provided with the person’s login information.
When you purchase items through the iTunes store you are purchasing a license to use the content whether it’s books, music, or video. You don’t technically own the item even if it is downloaded. The Apple license is non-transferable so it cannot be bequeathed to someone else. In order to avoid a problem with transferring content on someone’s death, you can use Apple Home Sharing which allows people in the same household to access a common library.
LinkedIn’s Unser Agreement does not permit you to share your login information. If you discover the profile of a person who has died, LinkedIn asks that you notify them and they will contact you to get more information. Once their verification process is complete, the profile of the deceased member will be deleted.
PayPal has an established process that an estate executor can work through in order to close a user’s account. Any funds remaining in the account when it is closed will be liquidated by check made out to the estate.
Twitter allows family members to request that an account of a deceased member be deactivated. Twitter does not provide log-in information to the executor. Twitter previously provided for accounts to be archived but it is unclear whether or not this option is still available.
Yahoo Terms of Service, state that “Upon receipt of a copy of a death certificate, your account may be terminated and all contents therein permanently deleted.” When you agree to Yahoo’s terms and conditions you agree that your account information won’t be transferred without permission. Yahoo does recognize consent that is included in an estate plan.at death, “users need to provide consent and their account information in their estate plans.”
YouTube does not have a system for allowing the videos of deceased members to remain on the site. While there is technically no limit to the amount of time YouTube will permit to remain on the site, the company does purge inactive accounts from time to time. Should you need to activate access a loved one’s videos, YouTube may be able to help. While the process to gain access can be cumbersome, it has been used successfully in the past.